Suicide Prevention Contest

General Contest Information

The Society for the Prevention of Teen Suicide, in partnership with 2nd Floor Youth Helpline, the New Jersey TLC and Rutgers Health, University Behavioral Health Care invite high school students across New Jersey to submit a public service announcement (PSA) focused on messages of hope. Each school is permitted to have a student submit an entry in each of the four categories.

Winners from each category will be honored in the Spring of 2018 at a Lakewood BlueClaws Baseball Game.

Contest Rules:

In order to be completely transparent with the voting process, we have detailed how the final voting for the 2017 PSA contest will be computed.

  1. SPTS PSA Contest Review Committee vote on all submissions. Their votes help narrow down the entries to the finalists. The total number of finalists is at the discretion of SPTS and will be determined by the total number of entries received in each category. The remaining entries are rank ordered based on the number of votes by SPTS committee members.
  2. Finalists are entered into a 10-day round of online Public Voting. The exact dates of the Public Voting will be announced by January 1, 2018. Finalists will be rank ordered, based on total number of votes they received (Rank 1 receives highest number of total votes, Rank 2 receives second highest number of total votes, etc.)
  3. The rank from the internal and public voting will be averaged. The entry with the lowest average is named the winner.
  4. In the event of a tie when the rank orders were averaged, the SPTS PSA Contest Review Committee voting determines the winner.




We are grateful to the following individuals for agreeing to participate as a member of our SPTS PSA Contest Internal Review Committee.

Kathi Abatemarco; Regional Human Resources Executive, Gannett Co

Phyllis Alongi; SPTS Clinical Director

Marcie Bradley, LCSW; SPTS Youth Council Manager – Ocean County

Stacy Brief; Mental Health Advocate/College Student

Maureen Brogan; Director, New Jersey TLC/New Jersey Youth Suicide Prevention Advisory Council

Stephanie Coggin; Vice President of Communications, American Foundation of Suicide Prevention

Steven Cuccuolo; PSA Contest Intern/College Student

Mark Farrell; Motivational, Youth & Disability Speaker/NYC Radio Host

Jeannine Grasso; SPTS Board Member

Jeff Hunt; Student Assistance Counselor, Voorhees Township High School

Julia Pardee; College Student/Former SPTS Youth Council Member

Steve Priolo; Director, NJ Partnerships, NJTV

Liz Jeressi; Morning Show Co-Host, Townsquare Media

Sue Tellone; Mental Health Association Monmouth

Wendy Sefcik; Mental Health Advocate/New Jersey Youth Suicide Prevention Advisory

Malia Segal, LCSW; SPTS Board Member

Maureen Underwood, LCSW

Joanna Zaraza; SPTS Youth Council Manager – Monmouth County

Tammy Murphy

Elizabeth Graham; Associate Director, 180 Turning Lives Around/2nd Floor Youth Helpline